Stalk My Closet

SXSW: Day 1

Okay so now that I’m back to normal again and no longer in full-out zombie mode, I can finally tell you about my trip to Austin! My friend Megan and I decided to meet in Austin (she lives in Seattle…if you can remember) and head to the 20th annual SXSW Music Festival. We are both avid concert goers and LOVE going to live shows and music festivals together, so we thought it would be a great way to spend a vacation together. My sister and her husband moved down there a little over a year ago so I got to visit her little family too! This cold, miserable winter had me down and I could not have been more ready for this trip. Our first day to SXSW, Megan and I explored downtown Austin, 6th street, indulged in a few adult beverages, and caught a few bands including Skaters and Wavves at the Viceland party. Both bands were amazing live, and the boys of Skaters were nice enough to give us our very own Skaters snapback hats with their motto “No Problem” written across the front (perfect, right?) Day 1 was a success and we were already falling in love with the city.

The weather in Austin this time of year was perfect: high 70s, sunny without a cloud in the sky, and cooling down at night. I decided to go with my signature look—all black everything. I paired my all-time favorite sheer black button down-blouse, new faux leather track shorts from Insane Jungle, high-top wedge sneakers, and my new babies: Karen Walker Helter-Skelter tortoise shell sunglasses (obsessed). I thought it was an easy, comfortable look to walk around in all day. My friend Megan decided to go for her hometown look of grunge, pairing an adorable polka dot skater dress with round sunnies, flannel tied around the waist, and a m a z  i n g floral Docs. All the patterns fit together oddly well and look amazing on her.

Here’s what we looked like on day one!

IMG_0716-001

On Megan (left): Old Navy circle sunnies, Nordstrom skater dress, Forever 21 flannel, floral Doc Martens
On Me (right): Karen Walker Helter Skelter sunnies, Forever21button down sheer blouse, Insane Jungle leather track shorts, Target high-top sneaker wedges.

IMG_0843-002

IMG_0842-003

IMG_0846 IMG_0829-001

IMG_0795-001 IMG_0823-001 IMG_0827-003

And here are some pics of our adventures…

IMG_8508 IMG_8510 IMG_8512 IMG_8531 IMG_8570 photo (2)IMG_8554IMG_8572IMG_8576 IMG_8601

Some of the boys from Skaters and our new hats!
IMG_8603No Problem.

2 thoughts on “SXSW: Day 1

  1. So I’m kind of obsessed with your style and blog, haha good thing it mentions “stalk” everywhere! I live in Austin and go to UT and loved how SXSW brought tons of style to the city while I attended events. Keep up the great work, and thanks for sharing!

    -Jonathan I http://styleoverstress.wordpress.com

Leave a comment